Ethan Mick

Book: Elon Musk

I just finished reading Elon Musk: Tesla, SpaceX, and the Quest for a Fantastic Future by Ashlee Vance.

I enjoyed the book and recommend you read it. It gives a good look at where Elon Musk came from and how that has impacted how he works and the man he is today. It also ran through the trials and tribulations of his companies, which was enlightening.

Elon Musk is my hero. I follow what he he does closely and try to read as much as I can about him, staying up to date on his companies. Because of that, I did feel like I had read a lot of these passages before, almost word for word. But if you've just kept a stray on on Musk, this book is sure to get you interested in more.

Takeaways

I like to try and change my behavior from reading books - to make myself a better person. After reading about Musk's work ethic and how hard he fought to get to where he is, I decided to change my work ethic too.

  1. I'm going to cut back on video games. Even though Musk himself played them, I feel like I play too much, and am squandering potential. While it's better than watching TV, doing #2 will be even better.
  2. I'm going to read more. Musk read voraciously, and it allowed him to become a subject matter expert very quickly. I'm going to spend more time reading, at least one book every other week, and post about them on this blog.
  3. I'm going to meet new people. I've spent too much of my time not going out and finding new friends. I'm going to look for events in Boston and hang out. If you're in the area, feel free to send me a message to meet for coffee!

Be the best web developer you can be.

A weekly email on Next.js, React, TypeScript, Tailwind CSS, and web development.

No spam. Unsubscribe any time.