Ethan Mick

Book: Talent isĀ Overrated

I just finished reading Talent is Overrated by Geoff Colvin. He debunks the idea that people have an "innate" talent toward something, and most people will only be "so good". Rather, the concept of Deliberate Practice is described, in which an intense, repeatable, and focused activity is applied toward achieving their goal in a domain.

The most disheartening thing I felt like was that some options have indeed been closed to me. I probably cannot become the Chess Grandmaster in the world, because I, being 24, am at least two decades behind on the practice I would need.

However, it was truly enlightening to how I can become much better in the domains I am interested in, through deliberate practice. And so I shall.

Talent is Overrated

Be the best web developer you can be.

A weekly email on Next.js, React, TypeScript, Tailwind CSS, and web development.

No spam. Unsubscribe any time.